An adventure in quilting hexagons: Part 1 – Inspiration

Ok, I’m the first to admit that I don’t have a lot of quilting experience.  This quilt below is the first and only one I’ve ever made… It came as a kit from Spotlight a while back and it’s basically squares and rectangles.  So even as an inexperienced quilter, it took me no time at all to sew and I love it.  And so, because I enjoyed making it so much I decided (even though it’s really not good for the budget) that it’s time to make another quilt.

IMG_3152.jpg

So why hexagons, you ask? Well, I’ve always liked hexagon quilts, but it was really this picture on Pinterest that made me want to give it a go.

6864104447_99d90c42a7_b

Something about the simplicity of almost monochrome hexagons with a contrasting border drew me in and I knew I had to make a quilt like this one.

The only thing I worried about was how difficult hexagons would be to sew, which a quick google revealed is a valid concern as it really only works well if you sew them by hand.

That simply wasn’t going to happen. I hate hand sewing.

So when I came across this wonderful tutorial I knew it was the solution. Start with half hexagons so you only have to sew straight lines?  Yes please!

ce10b7b83af9f555d4300bbb5f7fa235.jpg

So it looks like this quilt is going to be a combination of two ideas: the colour scheme of the first, and the pattern from the second tutorial.

Now to choose some fabric…

 

 

 

One thought on “An adventure in quilting hexagons: Part 1 – Inspiration

Leave a Reply

