No one likes a dry biscuit (& I don’t mean savoury)

IMG_3148.jpgHome made biscuits.

The fun of making them, the delicious smell of them cooking, waiting for them to cool just enough so you can eat them without sustaining a nasty burn – still warm and delicious and, hopefully, moist too.

Given that uni is finished for the year and that I have access to Mum’s well equipped kitchen at the moment, I decided today was a good day for baking.

The recipe for these honey coconut biscuits is from this battered old book, which you can somehow still buy.IMG_3149

Because coconut can be quite dry, I worried about the texture of the biscuits and so I made one small modification to the recipe, a little trick Mum taught me…

Add milk.

A tiny little bit of milk, simple as that.

Because no one likes a dry biscuit – just a little milk makes all the difference to texture.

IMG_3146

^ also one more thing, these look like truffles before they are baked which makes me think that maybe honey coconut truffles is a concept I need to explore…

One thought on “No one likes a dry biscuit (& I don’t mean savoury)

Leave a Reply

